Stromberg-Carlson SAU-33 PA -> Guitar amp conversion.

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
So this has been a project I've been working on for a couple of months now, with the excellent help of some nice folks over at a different audio forum. I'm in possession of two of these amps and I've been working my way through the first one and finalizing my schematic before working on the 2nd amplifier. I'm pretty close to wrapping it all up, but there are some finer points that I really need some help with.

Attached is a before/after schematic. One completely stock, and the modified schematic which shows all my changes marked by a red dot.

The infinite possibilities in preamp design are a little overwhelming, and I find myself constantly questioning certain decisions regarding cathode, plate resistors, and bypass caps etc.

Here is a current list of planned changes: 1. Reevaluate bypass cap values. V1A & V2Ato 1.5uF(?). How to bypass caps interact later down the chain? Does is make sense to have larger bypass caps earlier in the chain and smaller ones later, or vice versa?

2. Similarly, reevaluate plate/cathode resistor values. V1A & V2A cathode to 2.7k? I had previously switched V2A's plate to 220k. How is 1.5k/100k different to 3.3k/220k from a practical, audible perspective?

3. I already increased R35 from 2.7k to 5.4k. What are typical negative feedback values? I have also read at Rob Robinette that running a 100-500pf capacitor around R35 can help me reduce ice pick highs, which are currently a bit of an issue. How does this work? What kind of roll-off should I expect from say, a 500pf cap there? Should I be looking at increasing R35 more dramatically?