gaincard

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi,

as a new active member of this list I want to be possibly nasty and start another (?) thread about the "gaincard" amplifier.

Has anybody tried to make their own "clones" or whatever?

This little controversial beast (the orginal one of course) is AFAIK not available here in austria, so I have no real experience with the sound - although the hype is/was a little too much maybe.
(I think at least I can make a few more small amps for my sound studio ...)

Any comments?

Klaus

Yes I've seen that, and others (which are pretty similar of course).

But what still puzzles me is the fact, that this PowerOPs are in many relativly cheap MIDI setups and hifi gear of that kind, and never sound really astonishing special.
But also serious Hifi Brands like Linn or Rowland and Pro Brands like Rane use them too (the MAJIK f.e.).

The Gaincard semm to have a different sound (due to the "weak" supply ?)
Geoff, have you listened to it already?

greetings
Klaus

Klaus

Sorry, no I haven't listened to it, so I shouldn't really pass comment. However, it is probably similar in concept to an amp sold here in the UK at an exorbitant price (the Final) which uses power ics and a battery supply. The batteries have to be zinc-carbon standard cells (they sound better than rechargables or alkaline cells according to the sales blurb). I worked out the cost of using the amp for two hours a day, and the cost in batteries over a year was nearly as much as the amp itself!

I suggest that the main difference between the Midi setups and the Gaincard (if it does in fact sound any better) is in the power supply and in the quality of the ancilliary components.

Geoff

Hi all,

I agree fully with all who critisize the price policy of some hifi/highend products. All I know about the Final Amplifier seems really strange to me or at least funny.