Can I convert this balanced 4.4mm amp into unbalanced 3.5

Hello. I’m new to messing around in this space but not new to computer engineering and software engineering.

I have a cheap Chinese amp. Was supposed to be 3.5 to 3.5. What was sent was balanced 4.4!

Can I convert from balanced to unbalanced. I am decent with a soldering iron and not afraid of giving it a shot. I wouldn’t mind modding the jacks and making custom cables. Might save time!?

Replace terminals.
Replace low signal relay?
Change opamp configuration?
Stay with 5532D opamps?
Throw in round filing cabinet and find something else?

Thanks for suggestions!

Attachments

• IMG_1962.jpeg
    IMG_1962.jpeg
    352 KB · Views: 49
  • IMG_1961.jpeg
    IMG_1961.jpeg
    296.1 KB · Views: 53
  • IMG_1960.jpeg
    IMG_1960.jpeg
    301.9 KB · Views: 52
  • IMG_1959.jpeg
    IMG_1959.jpeg
    300.9 KB · Views: 52
Last edited:
Hope I'm right but I think it might be as simple as removing two negative phase op-amps. then shorting the empty sockets outputs to ground, you will need to hit the datasheets to see which pins. the ones to remove are the negative phase drivers, these two need to converted to Gnd, leaving you with a pos/gnd to each phone cup.

Is there two output jacks? - Do your phones have a single lead to one side or two separate leads connected by a single jack plug?

Ah, actually one of those front sockets is the input right? Give link to item you purchased please and which headphone you are using.

Each side of your headphone needs to see a signal and ground, if they have a single cable to one cup then there are just three wires inside (both cups connected to a single Gnd connection) The Headphones themselves do not know what they are connected to really. Get a multi meter and do a continuity test between the op-amp output pins and the output jack top plates you see there.